Our Policies And Procedures

Since 1989, New Zealand schools have been governed by Boards of Trustees as part of the Tomorrow’s Schools reform. Over the last couple of decades, a large number of parents, whānau and other community members have given their time and expertise to strengthen the direction and performance of Riwaka School.

We are fortunate to have a strong, passionate and committed Board of Trustees.

The main priorities of the board are to ensure we are doing our utmost for all learners at Riwaka School in terms of their progress and well-being.

The direction is driven by a strategic plan which is reviewed annually and takes into account systems and strategies that lead to the effective meeting of planned outcomes. This ‘roadmap’ gives the board and management an informed direction of what actions are to take place in the school to further improve outcomes. Our effectiveness is measured by both internal evaluation as well as evaluation by outside agencies, ERO (Education Review Office) and the Office of the Auditor General NZ.

It is an utmost priority for all our learners to succeed. The key areas that the board will continue to focus on are:

All boards of Riwaka School, past and present can be proud of the work that has been done that makes a difference for learners. It is very rewarding work. We can be very proud of the current and future direction of the school.

All school policies and procedures are hosted on an outside provider, SchoolDocs Ltd. These can be viewed here: (login required – see below)

The community username is: riwaka
The community password is: waka

Copyright: Except where stated, the content on this site is the copyright of SchoolDocs Ltd. It may not be reproduced without written permission from SchoolDocs Ltd.

Annual Report – Year ending 31 December 2022

Board of Trustees

Stephen Hailes – Presiding Member –
Adele Lidgard – Principal –
Geoff Button – Health & Safety
Chris Drummond – Property
Luke Hansen – Staff Representative
Jane Corston – Personnel
Laura Young – Finance

Board Meeting Minutes 2024

Board Meeting Minutes 2023