School Zone

Enrolment Scheme

The Board of Trustees has adopted the following scheme governing enrolments at Riwaka School as it is empowered to do by the Education Act 1989.

Home Zone

All students who live within the home zone described below are entitled to enrol at Riwaka School.  The geographic boundaries are:

Main Road Riwaka from Motueka Bridge to Top of the Takaka Hill, Riwaka Valley, Marahau, Kaiteriteri, Dehra Doon, River Road, Umukuri Road to Swamp Road and Swamp Road to Dehra Doon corner, Lodder Lane, School Road, Green Tree Lane and Wharf Road.

Out of Zone Enrolments

Each year the Board determines the number of places which are likely to be available in the following year for the enrolment of students who live outside the home zone.

Applications for enrolment will be processed in the following order of priority:

First priority:              will be given to applicants who are siblings of current students

Second priority:         will be given to applicants who are siblings of former students

Third priority:             will be given to applicants who are children of board employees

Fourth priority:           will be given to all other applicants

If there are more applicants in the first, second, third and fourth priority groups than there are places available, selection within the priority group will be by a ballot conducted in accordance with instructions issued by the Secretary under Section 11G(1) of the Education Act 1989.  Parents will be informed of the date of any ballot by notice in a daily newspaper circulating in the area served by the school.

To express interest in enrolling your child at Riwaka School, please contact the school office on or download a pre-enrolment form here and email to us.